Applecroft School

Nurturing Potential, Inspiring Minds, Changing Lives

Get in Touch

Interactive Bar

Google Translate


Google Search



Governing Board

The role of the Governing Board is to work with the Headteacher and school Senior Leadership Team to ensure that the pupils receive the best possible education.


The Governing Board has 3 key roles:


  • Ensuring that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined,
  • Ensuring that the Headteacher performs her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school, and
  • Ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school's financial resources.


Membership of the Governing Board

There are 4 different types of governor and members of the Governing Board:


  • Community Governors
  • Parent Governors
  • Staff Governors
  • Associate Members


Structure of the Governing Board

The Governing Board meets as a full group and as three committees, as follows:


  • Curriculum & Assessment
  • Finance & Premises
  • Personnel and Pupil Welfare


The Full Governing Board (FGB) meets six times each year (twice in each term) and each sub-committee aims to meet at least once each term (ideally twice).


Contacting the Governors

If you would like to contact any of the school governors please leave a message at the School Reception or send an email to marked 'For The Attention Of' either the Chair of Governors or another named Governor.