Applecroft School

Nurturing Potential, Inspiring Minds, Changing Lives

Get in Touch

Interactive Bar

Google Translate


Google Search



Religious Education

Curriculum Intent:

At Applecroft we provide the children with a broad and balanced RE curriculum that reflects life in modern Britain, our local community, nationally and globally and is influenced by the Herts Agreed Syllabus.


RE plays a significant role in supporting children’s spiritual, moral, emotional and cultural development. We promote and encourage open-mindedness, and explicitly teach the British Value of mutual respect and tolerance of all people, their beliefs and practices. At Applecroft, we teach that difference is a positive, not a negative, and value individual uniqueness.


Throughout their time here, children will learn about the key faiths of people in the UK: Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam, Buddhism, Sikhism and Humanism. Through our curriculum, the children will develop a strong knowledge, understanding and respect of the key beliefs and practices in each of these religions that will allow them to participate fully in and contribute positively to life in modern Britain.


At Applecroft we promote an enquiry approach; encouraging the children to ask ‘big questions’ about the world around them and seek to find answers to these through personal reflection about their own beliefs, quality first teaching, learning from each other’s experiences of different cultures as well as through first hand experiences.

Content and Approach:

From Nursery classes to Year 6 pupils will:  

  • follow a coherent and systematic study of the principal religion of Christianity across each key stage 
  • be introduced to the other five principal religions represented in Great Britain by the end of key stage 2



EYFS Children will encounter Christianity and religions and beliefs represented in the class, school or local community. Religious Education will support a growing sense of the child’s awareness of self, their own community and their place within this. .
KS1 Across Key Stage One the children will study Christianity along with Buddhism and Hinduism in Year 1 and Islam and Judaism in Year 2. Pupils also learn from other religions in thematic units
KS2 In Years 3-6 children will study Christianity along with 2 other religions in depth as follows Year 3 - Christianity, Sikhism & Humanism Year 4 – Christianity, Buddhism & Hinduism Year 5 – Christianity, Islam & Judaism Year 6 – Christianity, Sikhism & Humanism Pupils also learn from other religions and worldviews in thematic units.