Applecroft School

Nurturing Potential, Inspiring Minds, Changing Lives

Get in Touch

Interactive Bar

Google Translate


Google Search




Governing Board

Role of the Governing Board


The role of the Governing Board is to work with the Headteacher and school Senior Leadership Team to ensure that the pupils receive the best possible education.


  • Ensuring that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined,
  • Ensuring that the Headteacher performs her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school, and
  • Ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school's financial resources.


Please find below the profiles of the Governing Board, further information on each Governor may be found at the bottom of the page via their named links.

Our Code of Conduct

Contacting the Chair of Governors

If you would like to contact any of the school governors please leave a message at the School Reception or send an email to marked 'For The Attention Of' either the Chair of Governors or another named Governor.


Our current Chair of Governors is Mrs Louise Gardner.

Role Descriptors

Structure of the Governing Board


The Governing Board meets as a full group and as four committees, click the respective links for further information on attendance and/or minutes:


  • Curriculum & Assessment (C&A)
  • Finance & Premises (F&P)
  • Personnel and Pupil Welfare (PPW)
  • Audit & Risk (A&R)


The Full Governing Board (FGB) meets six times each year (twice in each term) and each sub-committee aims to meet at least once each term (ideally twice).

Governing Board Framework

Please find below the Governing Board and its framework including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Trustee:



Appointing Body


Link subject(s)

Term of Office

Mrs Louise Gardner



Finance & Premises

Audit & Risk 


MFL, English & EYFS

15/11/2019 - 14/11/2027

Mrs Claire Coe



Pupil & Personnel Welfare

Audit & Risk

Pupil Premium, CLA, SEND, SMSC & Wellbeing

19/06/2023 - 18/06/2027

Mrs Charlene Theophile


Curriculum & Assessment 

MFL & English

26/05/2021 - 25/05/2025

Mr Antonios KanellopoulosParentsCurriculum & AssessmentScience, Design Technology, Maths & Computing28/03/2023 - 27/03/2027
Mr Chris ClarkeParents

Finance & Premises

Audit & Risk(Chair)

Music, Art & Design28/03/2023 - 27/03/2027

Mr Toni Virtanen


Finance & Premises (Chair)

Audit & Risk 

History, Geography

27/01/2021 - 26/01/2025

Mr Stephen Williams


Curriculum & Assessment (Chair)

Audit & Risk

Finance & Premises


20/11/2019 - 19/11/2027

Mrs Lisa Bright


Pupil & Personnel Welfare (Chair)


Music, Art & Design

27/01/2021 - 26/01/2025

Mrs Barbara CrawfordMembers

Pupil & Personnel Welfare


SMSC & Wellbeing



Mrs Liz WilsonMembersCurriculum & AssessmentScience, Design Technology, Maths & Computing



Mr Ben Kirby


Pupil & Personnel Welfare


History, Geography

16/05/2023 - 15/05/2027

Mr Paul Wyatt

(Deputy Headteacher)

Co-opted by Governing Board

Finance & Premises

Curriculum & Assessment


01/10/2017 – 30/09/2025

Mrs Lisa Withe

(Headteacher) *ex-officio


Curriculum & Assessment

Finance & Premises

Pupil and Personnel Welfare

Audit & Risk


01/09/2015 –

Mrs Odette Coe

(Business Manager)

School - Associate member

Finance & Premises

Audit & Risk


Miss Rhiannon Kerry

(Assistant Headteacher for Inclusion & Well-Being)

School - Associate member

Pupil & Personnel Welfare



Please find below details of members of the Governing Board that have left during the 2019-20, 2020-21, 2021-22 and 2022-23 academic years:




Appointing Body

Term of Office

Mr Nigel GallacherStaffCo-opted by Governing Board20/01/2012 – 19/01/2024 (Term ended)

Rev'd Rachel Wakefield


Applecroft Governing Board

27/01/2021 - 16/05/2023 (Resigned)

Mrs Geraldine RockallParentApplecroft Parents/Carers15/11/2019 - 30/01/2023 (Resigned)
Mr Chris HaileyParent/CommunityApplecroft Governing Board

03/02/2017 - 02/02/2021 (1st Term)

03/02/2021- 29/09/2022 (Resigned)

Mrs Lyn LamaisonStaffApplecroft Staff02/09/2014 - 01/09/2022 (Term ended)
Mr Chris IvieCommunityApplecroft Governing Board

26/05/2021 - 18/08/2022 (Resigned)

Mrs Jenny FennellCommunityApplecroft Governing Board20/03/2013 - 19/03/2021 (Term ended)
Mrs Carol ForbesCommunityApplecroft Governing Board20/01/2012 - 19/07/2020 (Term ended)
Mrs Natasha LawrenceCommunityApplecroft Governing Board20/11/2019 - 01/07/2020 (Resigned)
Mrs Lisa Kyriacou FaulksParentApplecroft Parents/Carers01/12/2017 - 31/03/2020 (Resigned)
Mr Shane YoungCommunityApplecroft Governing Board02/12/2015 - 15/09/2019 (Resigned)
Mrs Lynn BoltonParentApplecroft Parents/Carers19/06/2019 - 05/09/2019 (Resigned)

Register of Business and Pecuniary Interests

Attendance 2023-2024




Lisa BrightYYN    
Odette Coen/aYn/a    
Claire CoeYYY    
Chris ClarkeYYY    
Barbara CrawfordYYY    
Nigel GallacherYYY    
Louise GardnerYYY    
Antonios KanellopoulosYYY    
Rhiannon Kerryn/an/an/a    
Ben KirbyYYY    
Charlene TheophileYNN   Apologies
Toni VirtanenYYY    
Rachel Wakefieldn/an/an/a    
Stephen WilliamsYYN    
Liz WilsonYYY    
Lisa WitheYYY    
Paul WyattYYY    



Audit and Risk Committee


Chris ClarkeYY  
Odette CoeYY  
Louise GardnerYY  
Toni VirtanenNN 


Claire CoeYY  
Lisa WitheYY  
Steve WilliamsYY  



Finance and Premises Committee


Odette CoeYNYY  Apologies
Chris ClarkeYYNY  Apologies
Nigel GallacherYYYY   
Louise GardnerYYYY   
Toni VirtanenYYYY   
Steve WilliamsYNYN  Apologies
Lisa WitheYYYY   
Paul WyattYYYN  Apologies



Curriculum and Assessment Committee


Louise GardnerNYY   Apologies
Antonios KanellopoulosYNY   Apologies
Charlene TheophileYYY    
Stephen WilliamsYYY    
Lisa WitheYYY    
Paul WyattYYY    
Liz WilsonYNY   Apologies



Attendance for the Pay Committee


Date08/11   23/04Notes
Lisa BrightN Apologies
Odette CoeY  
Louise GardnerY  
Barbara CrawfordY  
Lisa WitheY  



Personnel and Pupil Welfare Committee


Lisa BrightYYYY   
Claire CoeYYYY   
Barbara CrawfordYYYY   
Rhiannon KerryYYYY   
Ben KirbyYYNY  Apologies
Lisa WitheYYYY   


Attendance 2022-2023

Attendance 2021-2022

Attendance 2020-2021