Applecroft School

Nurturing Potential, Inspiring Minds, Changing Lives

Get in Touch

Interactive Bar

Google Translate


Google Search



Our Curriculum

Our Curriculum:

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS):

In our nursery and reception classes we follow the EYFS statutory framework, which sets out the seven areas of learning including Expressive Arts and Design. Children also learn about their class artists Matisse, Kandinsky and Seurat.


Key Stage One and Two:

In Key Stage One (Years 1 & 2) and Key Stage Two (Years 3-6), we follow the National Curriculum.


In Key Stage One the children learn to:

  • To experiment with drawing, printing, painting, collage, textiles and 3D work to develop and share their ideas, experiences and imagination
  • To develop a wide range of art and design techniques through the use of colour, pattern, texture, line, shape, form and space
  • Learn about the work of a range of artists, craft makers and designers.


The children also learn about their class artists that include: Joan Miro, Georgia O’Keefe, Claude Monet and Andy Goldsworthy.


In Key Stage Two the children learn to:

  • Develop their creativity by increasing their knowledge, skills and understanding of materials and processes
  • Pupils' experiences at this stage enable them to understand the diverse functions of art in the wider world
  • Pupils  learn to improve their use of tools and become confident in using a variety of techniques 
  • Pupils increase their awareness of the purpose of art from historical periods and begin to ask themselves about the purpose, creation, materials and significance of a variety of art works


The children continue to learn about class artists as they move through key stage two that include, Vincent Van Gogh, Barbara Hepworth, Pablo Picasso, Bridget Riley, Anthony Gormley, David Hockney, Andy Warhol and Henry Moore.

Whole School Road Map